The ones who have gone before

I love hanging out with older women. My relationships with them have benefited me much. In fact, sometimes I think of these relationships as lopsided. These precious women have given me so much; I don’t know what I have to bless them in return. All I have for them is love.

Titus 2:3-5

Likewise, teach the older women to be reverent in the way they live, not to be slanderers or addicted to much wine, but to teach what is good. Then they can urge the younger women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God.

I think it’s funny sometimes that we young ‘uns feel so separated from the ones who have gone before. Not many of the girls I know like the idea or have even thought about having an older woman as a mentor. If you’re thinking about discipleship, ask God to open up your eyes to the wonderful role models around you. Sometimes what’s standing in the way is just a request. Ask and you shall receive. 🙂

One thought on “The ones who have gone before

  1. Hi Li Ann,
    THANKS for giving older women due recognition. I, on behalf of the many older EVES whom you`re acquainted with are truly blessed! Am doubly blessed to be your mentor. Thanks for giving me the privilege. Loves.

Leave a Reply

