Things are starting to come together

I got accepted into Geology Field Camp today
Mission trip preparation underway
Replacement assignment planned and approved
And celebrating two sisters’ “into Christ’s family” – move

Okay so I guess it was pretty obvious I tried to make that last one rhyme. Didn’t intend for the first one to rhyme but it did so I thought I’d just complete the poem haha. Well as you can tell, things are starting to come together and I’m glad. 🙂 So I guess it’s about time that I put something up here. I’ve been doing a lot more personal face-to-face talking aka skype time and neglecting this more broad-audienced, written form of communication.

Let’s get to it then. In bible study today we looked at Luke 22:39-54. v47-48:

47 While he was still speaking a crowd came up, and the man who was called Judas, one of the Twelve, was leading them. He approached Jesus to kiss him, 48 but Jesus asked him, “Judas, are you betraying the Son of Man with a kiss?”

In this passage we see multiple times that Jesus knew what was going to happen. He knew that He was going to be captured and killed. But let me emphasize Jesus’ choice here. When the crowd came (which should have been pretty obvious, since it was a mountain after all and considering the speed and noise of a crowd) Jesus didn’t start running. He stayed and willingly went with the crowd. v52 “Am I leading a rebellion, that you have come with swords and clubs? 53 Every day I was with you in the temple courts, and you did not lay a hand on me. But this is your hour—when darkness reigns.” But even before that, Jesus knew that He was going to die and that His disciples – the men He had spent years pouring out His life into – would deny Him. Yet He still chose to do what He did. He patiently and faithfully poured His life out for His disciples day after day, showing the perfect example of Servant King.

Thought: How motivated would I be if I knew that no matter how hard I worked, I was going to be disappointed in the end? Probably not very much. In contrast, Jesus served without holding back even though He knew.

Lord, the few times when I think I know what’s going on, when I predict disappointment and failure, I pray that You teach me to respond like You did. You knew that there’s a bigger picture, You knew that it would be worth it. You will be glorified in the end. Thank You Jesus.

Leave a Reply

