Faith comes by hearing — a practical application

I was listening to a sermon a few days ago and it generally didn’t sit well with me. Nothing sank in at the end, and in fact, I was more distracted with the pastor’s flaws showing themselves while he was preaching than I was really listening to the sermon itself. I was unable to take his message seriously and left with complete lack of conviction to any form of thought or action.

We have a phrase in Malay, “tak puas hati”, which roughly translates to being unsatisfied, and wanting more. I felt that.

So I decided to listen to it one more time.

Fortunately, in our generation we often have the privilege of having recordings, so I gave it another go the next day. I was still distracted, but it was slightly better. Some words sank in but I wasn’t quite ready to give up and decided to give it one final go the next day. The third time around, I was convicted multiple times during the sermon, despite the broken vessel. One of my biggest takeaways was that indeed, faith comes by hearing. And perhaps, sometimes, in all practicality, it takes hearing it over and over again before we actually listen.

Romans 10:17. “Faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the Word of God.” 

Leave a Reply

